Flag of Anguilla (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Anguilla

capital:The Valley
geographic coordinates:18 13 N, 63 03 W
time difference: UTC - 4
daylight saving time:NO

Colonized by English settlers from Saint Kitts in 1650, Anguilla was administered by Great Britain until the early 19th century, when the island - against the wishes of the inhabitants - was incorporated into a single British dependency, along with Saint Kitts and Nevis. Several attempts at separation failed. In 1971, two years after a revolt, Anguilla was finally allowed to secede; this arrangement was formally recognized in 1980, with Anguilla becoming a separate British dependency