Flag of Brazil (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Brazil

geographic coordinates:15 47 S, 47 55 W
time difference: UTC - 3
daylight saving time:+1hr, begins third Sunday in October; ends third Sunday in February
note:Brazil is divided into four time zones, including one for the Fernando de Noronha Islands

Following more than three centuries under Portuguese rule, Brazil peacefully gained its independence in 1822, maintaining a monarchical system of government until the abolition of slavery in 1888 and the subsequent proclamation of a republic by the military in 1889. Brazilian coffee exporters politically dominated the country until populist leader Getulio VARGAS rose to power in 1930. By far the largest and most populous country in South America, Brazil underwent more than half a century of populist and military government until 1985, when the military regime peacefully ceded power to civilian rulers. Brazil continues to pursue industrial and agricultural growth and development of its interior. Exploiting vast natural resources and a large labor pool, it is today South America's leading economic power and a regional leader. Highly unequal income distribution and crime remain pressing problems.