Cayman Islands

Flag of Cayman Islands (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands
capital:George Town (on Grand Cayman)
geographic coordinates:19 18 N, 81 23 W
time difference: UTC - 5
daylight saving time:NO

The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries, and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies, but when the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.