Papua New Guinea

Flag of Papua New Guinea (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea
capital:Port Moresby
geographic coordinates:9 30 S, 147 10 E
time difference: UTC + 10
daylight saving time:NO

The eastern half of the island of New Guinea - second largest in the world - was divided between Germany (north) and the UK (south) in 1885. The latter area was transferred to Australia in 1902, which occupied the northern portion during World War I and continued to administer the combined areas until independence in 1975. A nine-year secessionist revolt on the island of Bougainville ended in 1997 after claiming some 20,000 lives.