Turks and Caicos Islands

Flag of Turks and Caicos Islands (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Turks and Caicos Islands

Turks and Caicos Islands
capital:Grand Turk (Cockburn Town)
geographic coordinates:21 28 N, 71 08 W
time difference: UTC - 5
daylight saving time:+1hr, begins first Sunday in April; ends last Sunday in October

The islands were part of the UK's Jamaican colony until 1962, when they assumed the status of a separate crown colony upon Jamaica's independence. The governor of The Bahamas oversaw affairs from 1965 to 1973. With Bahamian independence, the islands received a separate governor in 1973. Although independence was agreed upon for 1982, the policy was reversed and the islands remain a British overseas territory.