Flag of Tokelau (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Tokelau

capital:none; each atoll has its own administrative center
geographic coordinates:
time difference: UTC - 11
daylight saving time:NO

Originally settled by Polynesian emigrants from surrounding island groups, the Tokelau Islands were made a British protectorate in 1889. They were transferred to New Zealand administration in 1925. Referenda held in 2006 and 2007 to change the status of the islands from that of a New Zealand territory to one of free association with New Zealand did not meet the needed threshold for approval.