Flag of Tuvalu (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Tuvalu

geographic coordinates:8 30 S, 179 12 E
time difference: UTC + 12
daylight saving time:NO
note:administrative offices are located in Vaiaku Village on Fongafale Islet

In 1974, ethnic differences within the British colony of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands caused the Polynesians of the Ellice Islands to vote for separation from the Micronesians of the Gilbert Islands. The following year, the Ellice Islands became the separate British colony of Tuvalu. Independence was granted in 1978. In 2000, Tuvalu negotiated a contract leasing its Internet domain name ".tv" for $50 million in royalties over a 12-year period.