Wallis and Futuna

Flag of Wallis and Futuna (Click to Enlarge)
Map of Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna
capital:Mata-Utu (on Ile Uvea)
geographic coordinates:13 57 S, 171 56 W
time difference: UTC + 12
daylight saving time:NO

The Futuna island group was discovered by the Dutch in 1616 and Wallis by the British in 1767, but it was the French who declared a protectorate over the islands in 1842. In 1959, the inhabitants of the islands voted to become a French overseas territory.